Minto 2018 Election

Minto 2018 Election

TOWN OF MINTO — The 2018 municipal election has officially begun, as nomination papers were due July 27 at 2 p.m.

According to the Town of Minto website, the municipal election includes seven candidates for five councillor positions, one incumbent councillor acclaimed as deputy mayor, and two candidates for the mayor's position.

No new names came forward for the mayor's spot before the deadline. Former deputy mayor Terry Fisk will be challenging incumbent George Bridge, who is running for his third term as Minto Mayor.

Incumbent councillor David Turton has been acclaimed as the deputy mayor for the upcoming term.

Incumbent David Anderson was also acclaimed for the Wellington County Ward 1 council seat for his second term.

Incumbents Ron Elliott, Judy Dirksen, and Jean Anderson are seeking another term on council, with Glen Hall, Geoff Gunson, Mark Mackenzie, and Scott Marshall joining the battle for the five council seats.

The municipal election will take place on Oct. 22, 2018.

by Kelsey Dunbar